top of page
Search

Forgive them... forgive them not....



In tonight's Bible study, we covered 1 Samuel 24. There are 2 takeaway notes I got: Revenge, and Forgiveness. When I got into my car to leave, the song "Thy Will" by Hillary Scott was playing, and the point in the song was very appropriate for what we had just covered (which was forgiveness).



"...I know you're good

But this don't feel good right now

And I know you think

Of things I could never think about

It's hard to count it all joy

Distracted by the noise

Just trying to make sense

Of all your promises

Sometimes I gotta stop

Remember that you're God

And I am not

So

Thy will be done

Thy will be done

Thy will be done

Like a child on my knees all that comes to me is

Thy will be done

Thy will be done

Thy will

I know you see me

I know you hear me, Lord"

It's a great song when you're confronted with something that has happened and you don't know "how could God let this happen?!" I'm sure there are many cases where we've all wondered this. And there are questions to counter this state of mind: Why can't we forgive the way we are supposed to forgive? Can a person change? If so, then why can't we forgive?


Jan 16, 2016

Ed Westlake passed away from complications due to a motorcycle accident. He was hit head on by an idiot. This was not the first time the idiot has had accidents due to his stupidity, but it was the first time his stupidity had killed someone. Where is he now? Out there loose in the world probably driving. Jan 16th also happens to be the birthday of Ed's oldest child. Now, if the idiot comes to the family and says he's changed, that he's a better driver, will they forgive him?


This is what I want to talk about. Saying "I'm a changed person" is just words. But what are words without actions? If the idiot campaigns for safe driving, warns against drunk driving (or even texting), and gets on board with new laws and safety features (i.e., speed bumps, warning lights, etc.) then Ed's family can clearly see his days of idiocy are in the past. He is no longer a danger to the world. Will they forgive him then? Would you?


It still doesn't bring Ed back. And the family still has to live with the pain of his absence. When a wrong has been done and then the wrong-doer changes, it gives them a new life to move forward, but those affected by the past actions are still left in that wake dealing with those ripples.


Perhaps if we look at the reasons for the change in life. Did the action of (finally) killing someone push the idiot into changing his life for the better? Or was it his lawyer who threatened him with jail time if it happens again? Or perhaps his fiancé gave him an ultimatum in which his life needs to turn around or she bounces. Does the reason for the change matter when it comes to forgiveness? Or is changing reason enough?


I know You're good, but this doesn't feel good right now. Just trying to make sense of all Your promises. Sometimes I gotta stop and remember that You're God.... and I'm not. So, Thy Will be done. Thy Will be done! THY Will be done. Not mine.


What is it in your life that you're having trouble letting go of? Who in your life could benefit from your forgiveness? Who do you feel doesn't deserve your forgiveness, or that of anyone else's? That last person... that's the one you need to pray for. That's the person who really needs it. And it's because of that person that YOU need to forgive.


Forgive them... forgive them not... FORGIVE THEM.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

"I think there is blame on both sides!"

One day, my daughter came home from school looking rather dejected. I asked her how school was and she just shrugged. She had been like this for months. Then, one day, out of the blue, she came home i

bottom of page